Home News Interactive Action Useful Info Tables Results Fixtures Stats Rep Admin
  Latest News
Pitch for Friendlies in Sept, 19
Website Rollover
Midweek Training 2019-20
Pitch for Friendlies in July & Aug, 19
2019-2020 Training Pitches
Notice of YYL 2019 AGM
Final Payment
Finances Update
YYL Select at HKFC Citibank Soccer 7s 2019
HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens 2019
YYL Select at HKFC Citibank Soccer 7s 2019 Tuesday 21st May 2019

Congratulations to the players and coaches involved in the HKFC Citibank Soccer 7s this year, who once again exceeded expectations by finishing runners up in the Plate to Aston Villa.

The group stage saw the team narrowly lose their first two games against a superb Newcastle team and a somewhat fortunate Brighton. Last up was current AFC champions, Kashima Antlers. Despite going a goal behind, Dylan McWilliams got the Select back in the game after a beautiful move, culminating in a perfect through ball from Suraj Gurung, which sent the Allied Colloids ultras into raptures. Mathieu Boyer then sealed the win with a neat flick from a corner.

Holding exactly the same record, the YYL Select then had to face Kashima Antlers, in a 4 v 4 golden goal game, to determine who would finish 3rd. Part time specialist 4 v 4 goalkeeper and striker Martin Fray duly delivered, saving a Kashima effort before going up the other end to finish them off.

Sundays Plate quarter final was a cagey all Hong Kong affair with HKFC Captains Select. The game finished 0-0 and went straight to sudden death penalties. Only 24 penalties later, YYL Select captain Kieran Robinson scored the winner, after multiple saves from both Pete Smith and the HKFC keeper.

The semi-final saw KCCs Aron Ruszel score the only goal of the game, after some tricky footwork, to send SCC back to Singapore.

Although the YYL Select gave an excellent account of themselves in the final, Aston Villa ultimately proved to be too strong and ended up Plate champions, winning the game 2-0.

Players: Pete Smith, Martin Fray, Kieran Robinson (GAS), Dylan McWilliams, Daniel Martyn, Suraj Gurung (Allied Colloids), Aron Ruszel (KCC Dragons), Mathieu Boyer (Azzurri), Silvio Ruprah (AFC Squadron), Edwin Tizard (Spartans).

Coaches: Lee Tsang, Matt Zoeller, Alex Snow, Luke Schroder, Adam Wise

YYL Select 2019



   | 2006-07 |   2007-08 |   2008-09 |   2009-10 |   2010-11 |   2011-12 |   2012-13 |   2013-14 |   2014-15 |   2015-16 |   2016-17 |   2017-18 |    2018-19 |    2019-20 |       


  Copyright © Yau Yee Football League Designed by YSD